baby gear / budget / cloth diapers / expecting mothers / new years resolution / parenthood / parenting on a budget

From Disposable to Cloth: One Month of Cloth Diapers

IMG_2606IMG_3109

One of our New Years Resolutions was to switch to cloth diapers. We’ve stuck to it so far, other than a break to use disposables when we took a road trip to Chicago. (so sue me I didn’t wanna wash them in the hotel, though it probably wouldn’t have been that hard to) Previously we were using pampers swaddlers and/or honest company because those are the only two brands that don’t cause diaper rashes on my son. It figures that the two most expensive diapers are the two we would have to use. Needless to say we were spending an insane amount of money on diapers each month and with our tight budget that wasn’t a lot of fun. I’ve been thinking about cloth diapers since I was still pregnant with Wesley but I was always put off by the huge upfront cost of starting cloth diapers and that we don’t have a washer and dryer in our apartment. However we finally made the plunge after I realized that my husband, who I thought would be grossed out by the idea was onboard to switch to cloth too. We spent about $150 on the diapers (we have almost 30 diapers, not all are pictured in this post) and everything we needed to create our diaper set up. That’s actually less than two months worth of diapers at the rate we went through them.

IMG_3134 IMG_3140

I used mom cloth diaper buying co-ops that I found on facebook to get diapers for a very cheap wholesale price. Though, it does take a long time to receive your orders from a coop, sometimes months so planning ahead is a must. We went with Alva and Kawaii brand pockets and inserts so it’s a bit different from the kind of diaper you might traditionally imagine when you think of cloth diapers. The great thing about them is that not only do they have incredibly cute designs and are better for the environment, but they also have snaps on them so that they are one size fits most. From around 10 pounds to 30 pounds give or take a few pounds they will fit him and any other babies we may have. I’ve heard that prefolds and covers are better for newborns since newborns go through more diapers but we’ll cross that bridge when we get there.

IMG_3697 IMG_3105

As far as washing them goes, originally I planned on making the dreaded trip to the laundry mat 2-3 times a week to wash them, until I discovered that it’s easier to wash them by hand at home. Ok, so maybe “easy” isn’t the right word but it’s not nearly as hard as I imagined it would be. I got a bucket with a tight fighting lid, cut a hole in the center and put a plunger in it. Then I just do a couple rinses and a couple hot washes with detergent and they come out very clean! Since we switched to cloth diapers, Wesley hasn’t had a single diaper rash, which is huge because he has sensitive skin and tends to get them easily. For the first couple weeks we did have a few leaks as we were figuring out what system worked best for us. But overall cloth diapering has been great and I can’t believe we haven’t been doing this from the beginning!

Leave a Reply

